Home
It’s been all go this week; I’ve been burning the candle at both ends to meet various deadlines before flying off to Berlin this afternoon for 10 days. I’m taking part in the Literary Colloquium’s Translation Sommerakademie and so looking forward to a week of literature and – I’m sure – great company. The programme just arrived in my inbox and I’ll be reading it in more detail on the plane – a first glance shows trips to various publishers including Rowohlt, Suhrkamp, Galiani and Berlin Verlag, along with readings at the LCB itself by authors such as Jan Peter Bremer and Sherko Fatah, and a theatre trip on the last night thrown in for good measure.

I can’t wait to be back in Berlin again. It gave me a little thrill to see the hotel the LCB has arranged for us is on the same street as the hostel I stayed in the very first time I went there. That was back in 2003 when I was researching for my dissertation (I ended up writing about something completely different to my original proposal  after becoming fascinated by post-Wende literature and the GDR). That August was a sweltering one, ever memorable for me as the year I fell for Berlin.

I’ll be the first to admit I’m a lucky woman this summer, attending both the BCLT Translation Workshop and the LCB too. I certainly don’t want next week to go quickly, but I’m looking forward to bottling up all the inspiration and ideas I’m sure will be flowing around, then applying them to my work this autumn and beyond.

PS: The note added at the bottom of the programme was music to my ears:’’Bitte bei der Kofferauswahl beachten’’ Each participant will be given a bag of around 10 books to bring home, so please bear this in mind when selecting a suitcase!

Leave a Reply

